What are chakras and how can we balance them with yoga?

What are chakras?

Chakras are energy centers that we all have in our bodies.

We have 7 charkas that run along our spine. All of the chakras hold certain emotions or ‘energy’ and are responsible for how we feel. If one or more of those chakras are blocked we can feel unbalanced in the areas that those chakras are responsible for.

The 1st chakra is located at the base of the spine and is called the ‘root chakra’.

It is red in color and is responsible for our feelings of survival and belonging. When out of balance you can become needy, fearful, have low self-esteem or self-destructive behaviors.

The 2nd chakra is located in the center of the lower belly, beneath the belly button in the pelvic area. It is called the ‘sacral chakra’. It’s color is orange. The sacral chakra corresponds with our reproductive and sexual organs and represents fluidity, creativity, sensuality, and fertility.

When out of balance you might feel emotionally unstable, guilty, and hard on yourself. When in balance you feel more creative, positive, receptive to change, and allows you to experience intimacy and love freely and fully and to live your authentic self without fear.

The 3rd chakra is located at the stomach, just below the center of the rib cage. It is called the ‘solar plexus’ and is yellow in color.

The solar plexus is responsible for feelings of personal power, self-esteem and confidence. When blocked you may experience a lack of courage, an inability to set boundaries, depressions/anxiety, co-dependency and addiction.

The 4th chakra is located behind the sternum between the chest, it is called the ‘heart chakra’ and is green in color.

It is responsible for feelings of love, sadness, grief, anger, connection and our ability to give and receive love unconditionally and without fear.

When out of balance you might feel loneliness, shyness, jealousy, experience social anxiety, hold grudges or have a fear of loving or being loved.

The 5th chakra is located in the throat and is called the ‘throat chakra’. It is blue in color and is responsible for our ability to communicate and express our selves and our truth freely and without fear.

When out of balance we tend to hold things in and become fearful of what others might think or how they might react. We may also communicate in unclear, aggressive or unloving ways.

The 6th chakra is located between the eye brows and is called the ‘third eye’.

It is indigo in color and is responsible for your intuition. When blocked you become closed minded & too attached to logic. You start to doubt your gut instincts and block out spiritual wisdom and insight.

The last and 7th chakra is called the 'crown chakra', it sits outside of the body above the crown of the head in our energy field. It is violet or white in color and helps you to understand who you are beyond your physical self, that you are a spiritual being having a human experience. When blocked you think that happiness can only come from the outside world and you begin to suffer.

How can we clear and unblock our chakras?

Generally our chakras become blocked or out of balance when we experience traumatic or negative things. Unfortunately this can happen to us as human beings fairly regularly.

Luckily for us there are many ways that we can clear our chakras.

Below I am going to list a few different ways that you can clear them and then show you a yoga pose for each charka that can help bring it back to balance.

1. Chakra clearing meditations – there are many meditations that you can find on you tube or can that can be purchased that will guide you through clearing your own chakras.

Below is a link to one of my favorite mediations via www.yogajournal.com


2. Reiki – reiki is a spiritual & energetic healing that helps to clear negative emotions from your chakras and body (if you are interested in this, I am qualified in reiki healing and can help you with this)

3. Earthing – have you heard of this before? It’s when you go outside and walk on grass, soil, sand or the ‘earth’ barefoot’. The earth has some seriously grounding and healing energy and is great for clearing your chakras.

4. Swimming in the ocean!

5. There are also different crystals and essential oils that can help protect and heal chakras. Creations with flair make chakra bracelets with quality crystals that can help keep your chakras aligned. Not only that, essential oils can be added to the lava stones on the bracelets!​


How can yoga help?

In yoga there are a lot of different movements and poses also called ‘asanas’ that you can do to help move the blocked energy from certain chakras. Below is one pose that you can do at home for each chakra.